In 1630, Somerville was established as part of Charlestown. In 1842, Somerville incorporated and divided from Charlestown earning its independence and became a town. The name of Somerville has no known origin with a namesake, merely invented; the name was solely created to name Somerville. A large barge canal the Middlesex Canal traveled from the Merrimack River by way of east Somerville to the port of Boston. The canal was constructed between 1795 and 1803 to engage in open trade with merchants in New England. April 22, 1802 the first vessel made its way up the canal. In the beginning, the canal stopped at Medford but eventually it was expanded to Charlestown. The canal also branched out to the Mystic River allowing freight transport to Concord. The Canal was fed by the Concord River at North Billerica the tallest place on the canal, and the home of the Middlesex Canal Association?s Museum. Until the inception of the railroad, the canal was one of the major means of transport in New England. In 1851, the company became bankrupt due to railroad opposition. A few interesting and unique facts involving Somerville. Fluff marshmallow crème was invented in Somerville. In 1914, the inception of the Stop and Shop grocery chain evolved from the first Economy Grocery Store in Somerville. The boundary line between Somerville and Medford goes through Tuft University?s? campus dividing the main library, even though Tuft?s official address is in Medford. The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has the same basic scenario noted with a Cambridge address but the main entrance to the building is in Somerville on Beacon Street. Must see while in Somerville are the Brick Bottom Complex and Joy Street Studios two outstanding art studios. Do not miss Davis Square with its unique shops, diverse coffee shops, and the Somerville Theatre. Throughout the town are many galleries, music clubs, excellent restaurants and picturesque taverns to relax in after a full day of site seeing.